Gene Sharp Receives 2011 El-Hibri Peace Education Prize

September 28, 2011 -- The El-Hibri Charitable Foundation announced today that internationally acclaimed author and educator Gene Sharp has been selected as the 2011 recipient of the El-Hibri Peace Education Prize. The Prize, which carries a monetary award of $15,000, is given annually by the foundation to honor an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to the field of peace education. Sharp’s selection was conducted by Nonviolence International, which included a team of peace education experts led by Dr. Mubarak Awad.
“Gene Sharp has dedicated his life to researching and teaching the strategic uses of nonviolent struggle against the forces of war, oppression and dictatorship,” noted Robert Buchanan, president of the El-Hibri Charitable Foundation. “His intellectual contributions to the field of nonviolent change cannot be overstated. The El-Hibri Charitable Foundation is pleased to recognize Dr. Gene Sharp for his thoughtful scholarship, his practical approach to nonviolence, and his extensive influence around the world.”
With a Doctor of Philosophy degree from Oxford University, Sharp held research appointments at Harvard University’s Center for International Affairs for more than thirty years. Among Sharp’s 14 books, his /The Politics of Nonviolent Action /in 1973 is recognized as the definitive study of nonviolent struggle. In 1983 Sharp founded the Albert Einstein Institution in Boston where he currently serves as senior scholar. His best-known publication /From Dictatorship to Democracy: A Conceptual Framework for Liberation /in 1993 has been published in 34 languages. In 2009 Dr. Sharp was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.
The 2011 El-Hibri Peace Education Prize will be awarded to Gene Sharp at a ceremony to be held on October 1st at the El-Hibri Charitable Foundation’s Washington, D.C. headquarters.
The El-Hibri Charitable Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit private foundation. The foundation seeks to build a better world by encouraging peace education, interfaith dialogue, social justice and humanitarian aid. The El-Hibri Peace Education Prize was initiated in 2007. Past laureates include Colman McCarthy, columnist, author and founder of the Center for Teaching Peace; Mary E. King, international educator, author and policy advisor; Scott Kennedy, peace activist and co-founder of the Resource Center for Nonviolence; and Abdul Aziz Said, founder of the Center for Global Peace at American University.
For further information, visit or contact Zen Hunter-Ishikawa by email at or by phone at 202-387-9500.


get updates